Ube Powder vs Ube Extract vs Ube Flavoring: What the Labels Actually Say

WRITTEN BY Flora /

Ube powder vs ube extract is not a choice between two grades of the same thing. They are different products that happen to share a word, and a third product, ube flavouring, shares it too. On the best-selling bottles, "extract" and "flavouring" turn out to be used for the same product, sometimes on the same listing.

So we stopped reading the names and read the ingredient statements instead. Both of the widely distributed coloured ube flavourings we examined contain FD&C Red No. 3, a colour whose US food authorisation has been revoked with a compliance deadline of 15 January 2027.

One disclosure before anything else. We sell purple yam powder, sourced from the Philippines. We do not sell extract or flavouring, so read section 08 with that in mind. It is the section where we tell you which buyers should not buy from us, and it includes a format we do not sell that beats ours on flavour.

This guide covers what the ingredient statements of the leading ube flavourings actually say, what US law requires on your package when the ube character does not come from ube, three EU rules including an exemption most articles miss, the deadlines now attached to the colours behind most commercial ube purple, how frozen ube and halaya compare with powder, and how to verify which product you were actually sent.

01 Label survey

What the Labels Actually Say

Most of what is written about ube extract, including by us in an earlier draft of this page, leans on secondhand descriptions of what is in the bottle. That is not good enough for a decision with labelling consequences, so here is what the published ingredient statements say.

How this was done, and its limits

This is not a formal market survey. We read the full ingredient statements published on retail listings and product databases for two of the most widely distributed coloured ube flavourings in US Filipino and Asian grocery, and the published claims of the clear "natural" ube flavourings now competing with them. We have not tested any of these products. Listings lag reformulations, and one listing we read had transcribed "lactones" as "lactose". Treat this as a snapshot as at September 2026 and read the pack in front of you.

Product Sold As First Ingredient Yam Material in the Statement Colour System
A. Coloured flavouring, made in the Philippines "Ube flavor", also listed as "ube extract" Nature-identical ube flavour Yam oils and yam extract, as components inside the flavour FD&C Red No. 3, Red 40, Blue 1[23]
B. Coloured flavouring paste, made in Indonesia "Ube flavoring paste extract" Glucose syrup None. Artificial sweet potato flavour FD&C Red No. 3, Blue 1[24]
C. Clear "natural" flavourings, several brands "Natural ube extract" or "natural ube flavoring" Not verified from full statements Not stated in the claims we read None. Sold as colourless and dye-free[25][26][27]
D. Real-ube flavouring extract, at least one brand "Real ube flavoring extract from natural ube" Not verified Claimed Not verified[27][28]
E. Ube powder "Ube powder", "purple yam powder" Purple yam The product itself The tuber's own anthocyanins

Four things come out of that table.

The name on the bottle tells you nothing

Product A is sold as both "ube flavor" and "ube extract". Product B calls itself a flavouring paste extract. The distinction the search term assumes, extract versus flavouring, does not survive contact with the listings. The split that actually matters is where the colour comes from, and whether any of the material came from a yam.

One of them contains no yam at all, the other contains some

Product B's statement lists glucose syrup, water, propylene glycol, sorbitol syrup, artificial sweet potato flavour, coloring and ethyl vanillin.[24] There is no yam in it of any species.

Product A is more interesting. Practitioner guides report that the mainstream ube flavourings contain no actual ube.[28] Product A's statement does list yam oils and yam extract, inside a nature-identical flavour.[23] Whether that yam is Dioscorea alata is not stated, and the quantity is not given. So "contains no ube" is established for B and not established for A, and we would rather correct a source than repeat it.

Both use Red No. 3

This is the finding that matters most, and section 04 explains why. Erythrosine, FD&C Red No. 3, is in both products.[23][24] Its US food authorisation has been revoked. Product A also contains Red 40, which carries its own consequences in Europe (section 03).

The "natural" camp solves the dye problem and delivers no colour

The clear natural flavourings are sold as colourless and dye-free.[25][26] That removes the synthetic colour. It also removes the purple. A manufacturer moving off a coloured flavouring onto a clear one has replaced the flavour and lost the colour, and something else has to supply it. That is the gap ube powder fills, and it is the most useful fact in this article for anyone planning a reformulation.

"Extract" is a method word, not a content claim

Buyers read "extract" as meaning concentrated ube. In US flavour regulation, the definition of natural flavour at 21 CFR 101.22(a)(3) lists essences, extractives, distillates and similar forms as the ways a flavour can be obtained, and the test is function: the ingredient's significant purpose must be flavouring.[1]

"Extractive" describes how flavouring constituents were obtained. It sets no minimum content of the named plant, and no regulation attaches one.

The pigment arithmetic

A typical recipe uses a teaspoon or two of ube flavouring per batch. One teaspoon is roughly 5 g, which in a 1 kg batter is about 0.5 percent by weight.

Where the purple actually comes from

Product B: contributes no yam pigment at all. Every bit of its purple is Red No. 3 and Blue 1.

Product A: its yam extract is a sub-component of a flavouring used at drops per batch. Its pigment contribution is negligible; the visible colour is carried by Red No. 3, Red 40 and Blue 1.

Ube powder at 5 percent inclusion: published monomeric anthocyanin for D. alata ranges from 10 to 90 mg per 100 g dry basis,[29] and one purple yam flour was measured at 77.72 mg per 100 g.[30] At 5 g of powder per 100 g of product, that is 0.5 to 4.5 mg of anthocyanin per 100 g of finished food, all of it from the tuber.

That is why extract needs dye and powder does not. It is also why the price comparison is misleading. You are not comparing two ways of buying ube; you are comparing ube with a flavoured, coloured syrup.

Ube Powder Coloured Flavouring Clear Natural Flavouring
What it is Dried, milled tuber flesh Flavour and synthetic colour in a syrup or glycol base Flavour in a liquid base, no colour
Contributes purple Yes, muted, from the tuber Yes, vivid, from dye No
Contributes body and starch Yes, substantially No No
Flavour impact Mild Strong Strong to moderate
US deadline exposure None Yes, if it contains Red No. 3 None from colour; source of flavour still matters (section 02)
Cost per kg of finished product Highest Lowest Low

02 US labelling

Can You Call It Ube in the United States

Here is where the choice stops being a formulation preference and becomes a compliance question.

Why this section does not use ice cream as the example

An earlier draft of this page did, and it was the wrong choice. Ice cream has a US standard of identity with its own flavour-labelling categories, and colour declaration rules treat butter, cheese and ice cream differently from other foods.[5] If your product is ice cream, the rules below are not the whole story. The examples here use cake and similar non-standardised foods.

The characterizing flavour rule

Put "Ube" in the product name and ube becomes a characterizing flavour, which brings 21 CFR 101.22(i) into play.[1] The outcomes turn on where the flavour came from:

  • Enough real ube to independently characterise the food, and no artificial flavour simulating it. The name can stand alone. "Ube Cake."
  • Natural flavour derived from ube, but not enough ube itself to independently characterise the food. The name is followed by "flavored", optionally preceded by "natural", in letters not less than one-half the height of the letters in "ube". "Ube Flavored Cake."[1]
  • Natural flavour, none of it derived from ube. The food must be labelled either with the flavour of the source it actually came from, or as "artificially flavored".[1]
  • Any artificial flavour that simulates, resembles or reinforces ube. "Artificial" or "artificially flavored", again at not less than half the height of the flavour name.[1] There is no de minimis threshold: a trace of artificial flavour performing that role converts the whole declaration.[3]

Placement is regulated as well as size. Where the flavour name appears conspicuously on the label, the qualifying words must immediately and conspicuously precede or follow it, with no intervening written, printed or graphic matter.[1]

If "Ube" is 48-point on your carton, "Flavored" must be at least 24-point, and nothing — no swoosh, no tuber illustration — may sit between the two.

Two consequences that surprise people

"Nature-identical" means artificial in US terms. Under 101.22, an artificial flavour is one not derived from the listed natural sources, even if the identical molecule also occurs in nature.[1][4] Product A in section 01 lists a nature-identical ube flavour. Unless its constituents were derived from natural sources, a finished food flavoured with it and named for ube carries "artificially flavored".

A natural flavouring can still force "artificially flavored". This is the one clean-label brands miss. A clear "natural ube flavouring" whose natural flavour was derived from vanilla, coconut or anything other than ube falls into the third case above: the finished "ube" product must name the true source or say "artificially flavored".[1] Natural is not enough. Source is the test. If you are buying a natural ube flavouring, the question to ask is not whether it is natural but what it was made from.

There is no number, and anyone who gives you one is guessing

The obvious next question is how much real ube counts as enough to independently characterise the food. The FDA does not say. No percentage appears in 21 CFR 101.22, and no guidance document we have found supplies one. It is a judgement about the finished product, made case by case.

Your ingredient supplier cannot answer it, and a supplier who confidently quotes you a threshold is inventing it. The decision belongs to whoever signs off your label, which for a product of any scale means regulatory counsel, not the product developer and not us.

What we can tell you is the direction. Ube's aroma is mild and does not survive dilution the way a flavouring compound does. At the low end of the powder range you get colour and body with little flavour impact. If the powder is meant to carry the characterizing flavour on its own, expect to work at the upper end of the inclusion range, with the starch contribution that comes with it.

Colour declarations, and when ube powder itself becomes a colour additive

Certified synthetic colours must be declared by name. "FD&C Red No. 40", "FD&C Red 40" and "Red 40" are all acceptable, and lakes must say "Lake".[5][6] One secondary compliance summary also notes that where an ingredient has been used to alter a product's inherent colour, "Natural Color" or "Naturally Colored" in the ingredient statement does not meet FDA requirements.[5]

An earlier draft of this page said that a product coloured by ube powder has no colour additive to declare. That was too absolute, and the regulation draws the line more precisely. Under 21 CFR 70.3, food ingredients such as cherries, peppers, chocolate and orange juice that contribute their own natural colour when mixed with other foods are not colour additives; but a food substance such as beet juice deliberately used as a colour, as in pink lemonade, is.[2]

  • Ube powder in a product named and sold as ube sits on the chocolate side of that line. The colour is the ingredient's own.
  • Ube powder added to colour something that is not an ube product — a purple frosting on a vanilla cake, say — sits on the beet juice side. It is then a colour additive, and colour additive rules govern it rather than food ingredient rules.
  • Pushing the ube dose well past what flavour and identity need, purely to deepen the shade, moves you toward the beet juice side. That is our reading, not a ruling, and it is a question for counsel.

03 EU labelling

Three European Rules, Including an Exemption Most Articles Miss

American rules mostly govern what you must say. European rules govern what you must quantify, what "natural" is allowed to mean, and in one case what you must warn about.

QUID: the percentage, and the exemption

Under Article 22 and Annex VIII of Regulation (EU) No 1169/2011, the quantity of an ingredient must be declared as a percentage when it appears in the name of the food, is usually associated with that name, is emphasised on the label in words or images, or is essential to characterise the food.[7][8] The UK retains the same rules as assimilated law.[10]

An earlier draft of this page stopped there and concluded that any ube product has to publish its ube percentage. It does not, because Annex VIII carries an exemption. QUID is not required for an ingredient used in small quantities for the purposes of flavouring — the Food Safety Authority of Ireland's example is garlic in garlic bread.[9] "Small quantities" is not defined in the regulation, and practitioners commonly work to around 2 percent.[9]

So the honest version is this:

  • If ube is presented as an ingredient — "Ube Cheesecake", "made with real ube" — QUID applies and the percentage goes on the pack.
  • If ube is present only in small quantities for flavouring, QUID may not apply. The product name then has to be honest under the general rules on misleading information, and the flavouring rules below take over.
  • A picture of a tuber can trigger QUID as emphasis, but a picture given as a serving suggestion would not normally count.[9]

"Natural ube flavouring" needs 95 percent from ube

This is the EU rule that pairs with the US source test, and it is stricter. Under Article 16(4) of Regulation (EC) No 1334/2008, "natural" may be used together with a reference to a food or flavouring source only if the flavouring component was obtained exclusively, or to at least 95 percent by weight, from the source named. The description must read "natural [source] flavouring".[11] Where the flavouring is only partly derived from the named source and that flavour is easily recognisable, practitioners describe the permitted form as "natural [source] flavouring with other natural flavourings".[12]

Apply that to the clear natural camp in section 01. A colourless flavouring built from vanilla, coconut and other natural notes may be entirely natural and still not qualify as "natural ube flavouring" in the EU, because less than 95 percent of it came from ube. Both jurisdictions land in the same place by different routes: source, not naturalness, is what the rules test.

The Southampton colours, and a red that is barely permitted at all

Article 24 and Annex V of Regulation (EC) No 1333/2008 require any prepacked food containing tartrazine (E102), quinoline yellow (E104), sunset yellow (E110), carmoisine (E122), ponceau 4R (E124) or allura red (E129) to carry the statement:[13]

"[name or E number of the colour]: may have an adverse effect on activity and attention in children"

The requirement has applied since 20 July 2010.[13] Of the synthetic reds in common use in EU foods, allura red, carmoisine and ponceau 4R are all on that list.

Now apply it to the survey:

  • Product A contains Red 40, which is allura red, E129. A dessert coloured with it, sold prepacked in the EU or UK, carries the warning. On a premium product in a category whose whole appeal is the colour.
  • Both A and B contain Red No. 3, which is erythrosine, E127. Under the additive rules the UK retained from the EU, erythrosine is allowed in cocktail cherries but not in sweets.[14] Its use is restricted to a narrow cherry category, so the colour system of either product is not usable in an EU dessert at all.

Neither issue arises for anthocyanins from a tuber used as a food ingredient. Two qualifications. The Southampton warning attaches to specific colours, so a product using a natural colorant does not trigger it. And EFSA's re-evaluation did not revise the acceptable daily intake for allura red, so this is a labelling obligation rather than a safety finding.[15]

04 Timeline

The Colours Behind the Best-Selling Flavourings Have Deadlines

Section 03 is settled law. This section mixes settled law with policy that is still moving, and we are going to keep the two apart, because much of what is written about it overstates the position in one direction or the other.

The hard deadline: Red No. 3

The FDA revoked the authorisation for FD&C Red No. 3 in food and ingested drugs, with a compliance date in 2027 for food and 2028 for drugs.[17] For food, that date is 15 January 2027.[19][20]

This is not a voluntary request. It is a revocation. And both of the coloured ube flavourings in section 01 contain Red No. 3.[23][24] A finished ube product coloured with either of them contains Red No. 3, and its manufacturer is inside the compliance window now.

Two of the best-known ube flavourings in US Filipino grocery are coloured with a dye that has a legal end date four months from the date of this article.

The soft deadline: Red 40 and Blue 1

On 22 April 2025 the US Department of Health and Human Services and the FDA announced measures to phase petroleum-based synthetic dyes out of the food supply, including working with industry to eliminate six dyes — Green 3, Red 40, Yellow 5, Yellow 6, Blue 1 and Blue 2 — by the end of the following year.[16] Red 40 and Blue 1 are both in the survey products.

That part is a request, not a ban. Commentators have described it as a voluntary understanding between the agency and certain companies, and have noted that not every company is on board.[18] As of the most recent position we could verify, Red 40's listing at 21 CFR 74.340 remains in effect and no proposed revocation has been published.[19] Several states have gone further on their own, banning Red 40 from school meals.[19][20]

In February 2026 the FDA also moved to ease the path for products coloured without petroleum-based dyes to make "no artificial colors"-type claims, where previously even a natural colour additive such as beet juice made a product ineligible.[21][22] The practical detail matters and we have not reproduced it here; read the guidance itself before relying on it.

Check this before you act on it

This is the only part of the article with moving targets in it. Verify the current status of Red No. 3, Red 40 and Blue 1 directly rather than relying on this page or any page.

The market is already moving

At least one ube product in US retail now carries "No Red 3, No Red 40, No Ube Extract, No Artificial Colors, Real Philippine Ube" in its product title.[27] When brands in a category start selling against an ingredient by name, the reformulation pressure is commercial before it is legal.

Market Purple From a Survey-Type Flavouring Purple From the Tuber
United States, Red No. 3 Revoked. Food compliance date 15 January 2027 Not applicable
United States, Red 40 and Blue 1 Legal today, declared by name, targeted for voluntary phase-out, banned in some state school meals Not applicable
EU and UK, Red No. 3 (E127) Not usable in desserts; restricted to a narrow cherry category Not applicable
EU and UK, Red 40 (E129) Mandatory children's activity and attention warning No warning
EU and UK, QUID Possibly exempt if ube is only a small-quantity flavouring, but then the name must be honest Percentage declared, and it will be a respectable one

None of this makes synthetic colour wrong. It makes it a choice with a growing and now dated compliance cost.

05 Other formats

Frozen Ube and Halaya: The Comparison Nobody Makes

Powder, extract and flavouring are not the only ways to buy ube. Two others use the real tuber, and a supplier of powder has every reason not to mention them. Here they are.

Frozen grated ube or puree

This is the tuber, grated or mashed and frozen. It keeps more of the fresh flavour and texture than any dried form, and if flavour is your priority and you have a cold chain, it will beat powder. We say that as a powder supplier.

The cost is water. Fresh purple yam tubers carry 65 to 82 percent moisture.[34] Powder is sold dry. So you pay freight, frozen storage and handling on the water.

The solids arithmetic

One kilogram of powder at about 5 percent moisture holds roughly 0.95 kg of tuber solids. At 70 percent tuber moisture, that is the solids content of about 3.2 kg of frozen tuber. At the wet end of the published range, 82 percent, it is over 5 kg.

So for every kilogram of powder, a frozen buyer is shipping, storing and paying for roughly three to five kilograms of frozen material to get the same tuber solids.

Two practical differences beyond cost. Frozen grated ube is usually raw, so its starch is ungelatinised and it needs cooking; a drum-dried powder arrives pre-gelatinised and behaves differently in cold applications. And frozen material varies with the batch of tubers exactly as powder does, so the lot-variation discussion in our beverage formulation guide applies to both.

Ube halaya

Halaya is a finished preparation: boiled, mashed purple yam cooked with condensed or coconut milk and butter until thick.[35] It is the traditional base for ube pastries and ube ice cream in the Philippines. For a manufacturer it is a component rather than a raw ingredient. The sugar, dairy and fat are already decided for you, which limits formulation freedom and brings dairy into your allergen statement.

Converting between formats

  • Powder to frozen puree: as a starting point, 1 part powder plus about 2 parts water approximates the tuber solids of 3 parts frozen puree at 70 percent moisture. Adjust for your actual moisture, and remember the powder is pre-gelatinised and the frozen tuber usually is not.
  • Coloured flavouring to powder: not a substitution but a reformulation. You move from about 0.5 percent to several percent inclusion, add liquid for the starch, and accept a paler colour permanently. The FAQ below has more.
  • Anything to halaya: reformulate the whole sugar, fat and dairy system, because halaya brings its own.

06 Verification

How to Tell Which One You Were Sent

A specification sheet saying "ube powder" is not evidence of anything. Here is what distinguishes the products, in rough order of cost.

  • Read the ingredient statement in order. Free and fast. If glucose syrup, water, propylene glycol or a flavour comes first, you are holding a flavouring preparation whatever the front of the bottle says.
  • Ask for the process flow diagram. Drying and milling produces powder. A syrup base, a solvent or a compounding step produces a flavouring.
  • Ask, in writing, whether any certified colour is present and which. Red No. 3 now has a US end date, Red 40 triggers an EU warning, and you want the answer on paper.
  • For any "natural ube" flavouring, ask what the flavour was made from. After section 02 and section 03 you know the rules in both markets test the source, not the naturalness.
  • Screen for synthetic dyes. HPLC with diode-array detection is the routine method, and it is cheap relative to a mislabelled production run. It is the most direct test of this article's central question.
  • Use ash, not protein, to check for dilution. Published D. alata flour ash sits in a fairly narrow band, 2.6 percent,[32] 3.02 percent[31] and up to 3.32 percent across accessions.[33] Protein does not: published values run from 0.78 percent[32] to 8.74 percent,[31] too wide to diagnose anything. Maltodextrin and glucose syrup carry essentially no ash, so a 50 percent carrier blend roughly halves it, to around 1.3 to 1.7 percent. An ube powder with ash below about 2 percent deserves a question. Compare on the same moisture basis.
  • HPLC anthocyanin profile. Dioscorea alata is cyanidin-dominant with acylated alatanins; purple sweet potato profiles are typically peonidin-heavy. This separates the two species after both have been dried and milled.
  • Species identification by DNA barcoding. Definitive, and worth the cost on a first shipment from a new supplier. Ube is Dioscorea alata; purple sweet potato is Ipomoea batatas. They are not in the same plant family.
  • Price reality check. Real purple yam has a farm-gate cost and a drying yield, and both put a floor under what powder can cost. A quotation close to purple sweet potato pricing is telling you which crop is in the bag.

For drinks specifically, the certificate of analysis needs particle size distribution, residual SO₂ and a named anthocyanin method as well, set out with the reasoning in our guide to ube powder for beverage formulation.

07 Colour expectation

Why Real Ube Is Never That Purple

Every conversation about ube powder vs ube extract ends up here.

The colour people associate with ube, the saturated violet of commercial ube desserts, is largely the colour of Red No. 3, Red 40 and Blue 1. Cooked Dioscorea alata flesh is a muted purple and a powder made from it is paler still. Practitioner guides describing real ube make the same point.[28]

The dye route has trained an entire market's expectations, which produces a predictable failure. A buyer switches to powder for clean-label reasons, sees the real colour, and concludes the powder is weak.

It is not weak. It is the colour of the plant.

If you are making that switch, brief marketing before the first production run, expect to reset consumer colour expectations rather than match the incumbent, and consider whether a natural copigment or a complementary natural colorant belongs in the formula — with its own declaration consequences under section 02. What actually controls the shade, and how to tell a bad lot from normal ube, is set out in ube powder not purple? how to tell a bad lot from the real thing.

08 Decision

Ube Powder vs Ube Extract: Which One You Should Actually Buy

If Your Situation Is Buy Because
You want "Ube" in the product name with no qualifier, US market Powder, at the upper end of the inclusion range The qualifier turns on how much characterizing ingredient is present, and only real ube supplies any
You sell prepacked in the EU or UK Powder, or a flavouring that genuinely meets the 95 percent rule, plus a non-Southampton colour if you need one E127 is not usable in desserts, E129 triggers a warning, and "natural ube flavouring" requires 95 percent from ube
You need body and mouthfeel as well as colour Powder Flavourings contribute neither
You need strong ube flavour at low inclusion Powder plus a flavouring, after asking what the flavouring was made from Powder aroma is mild; the flavouring's source decides your label
You are reformulating off Red No. 3 or Red 40 Powder for colour and body, a clear flavouring for impact The clear flavourings replace the flavour but not the colour
Flavour is the priority and you have a cold chain Frozen ube, not powder It tastes closer to fresh. You pay freight on three to five times the weight.
Vivid purple, domestic US only, label not a positioning asset Coloured flavouring It is far cheaper and it works — but check the red. If it is Red No. 3, your date is 15 January 2027.

Four things we will say against our own catalogue

  • If you only need colour, powder is the expensive way to get it. Ube is a dilute pigment carried in a lot of starch. A concentrated purple sweet potato or black carrot preparation delivers more colour per dollar.
  • If you have a cold chain and flavour is the priority, frozen ube beats our powder. We do not sell it. It is still the better answer for that buyer.
  • Powder will not give you the purple your competitor has. If the brief is to match a dye-coloured incumbent, no supplier's powder alone will do it. Anyone who says otherwise is selling a coloured blend.
  • The regulatory case above is a reason, not a verdict. Every rule cited here is a labelling or authorisation matter, and the Southampton warning in particular is not a safety finding. If you read this page as evidence that synthetic colour is dangerous, we have written it badly.

We supply purple yam powder made from Dioscorea alata sourced from the Philippines, drum-dried from peeled tuber flesh with no carrier and no sulfites, with a certificate of analysis carrying an HPLC anthocyanin result. Samples are free of charge, MOQ is 1 kg, lead time is 7 to 15 days and quotations are returned within 24 hours. Tell us the market you are selling into and what the label needs to say, and we will tell you whether powder solves your problem or whether something else does.

09 Questions

Frequently Asked Questions

Can I substitute ube powder for ube extract in an existing recipe?

Not one for one. A coloured flavouring contributes flavour and dye at around half a percent; powder contributes mass, starch and water demand with a much weaker colour. Replacing a teaspoon of flavouring with a teaspoon of powder gives you almost no colour and almost no flavour. Expect to move to several percent inclusion and to add liquid, since the starch will absorb it. The colour will also be paler than the dye version, permanently.

Does ube extract contain real ube?

It depends on the product, and the name will not tell you. Of the two widely distributed coloured ube flavourings we read, one lists no yam material at all and uses an artificial sweet potato flavour; the other lists yam oils and yam extract inside a nature-identical flavour, without stating the species or amount.[23][24] At least one brand markets a flavouring extract made from real ube.[27] If it matters, ask the supplier for the ube content and species in writing.

Is ube powder the same as purple sweet potato powder?

No. Ube is Dioscorea alata, a yam. Purple sweet potato is Ipomoea batatas, which is not a yam and not in the same plant family. Their anthocyanin profiles differ, ube cyanidin-dominant and purple sweet potato typically peonidin-heavy, and so does their starch behaviour. They are priced very differently, which is the practical reason the substitution happens.

Can I call my product "Ube Cake" in the United States?

Only if it contains enough ube to independently characterise the food and no artificial flavour simulates it. Otherwise the name needs "flavored" or "artificially flavored", in letters at least half the height of "ube", immediately next to it with nothing in between.[1] There is no published percentage threshold for "enough". That call belongs to your regulatory counsel. If your product is ice cream rather than cake, the standard of identity adds rules of its own.

What do I have to declare if I sell an ube product in the EU?

If ube is presented as an ingredient, its percentage, under QUID.[7][8] If it is only a small-quantity flavouring, QUID may not apply, but the name must then be honest.[9] Colours are declared by name or E number; allura red (E129) and the other Southampton colours require the children's activity and attention warning;[13] and "natural ube flavouring" requires at least 95 percent of the flavouring component from ube.[11] The UK applies the same rules as assimilated law.

Are Red No. 3 and Red 40 banned in the United States?

Red No. 3 is: its food authorisation was revoked, with a compliance date of 15 January 2027.[17][19] Red 40 is not, as of the latest position we could verify; it is part of a voluntary phase-out announced in April 2025, and several states have banned it from school meals.[16][18][19] Both of the leading coloured ube flavourings we read contain Red No. 3. Verify the current status rather than trusting any article, including this one.

Is a "natural ube flavoring" enough for a clean label?

Not by itself. In the US, if none of a natural flavour came from ube, a finished product named for ube must name the real source or say "artificially flavored".[1] In the EU, "natural ube flavouring" requires at least 95 percent of the flavouring component to come from ube.[11] And a clear natural flavouring gives you no colour, so something else has to supply the purple. Ask what it was made from, not whether it is natural.

Why does my ube product look grey rather than purple?

Usually one of a handful of causes, some in your own process and some in the raw material, and they need separating before anyone changes supplier. We set out five checks that tell them apart in ube powder not purple?

10 Evidence base

References

Regulation, United States

[1] US FDA. 21 CFR 101.22 — Foods; labeling of spices, flavorings, colorings and chemical preservatives. Definitions at (a), characterizing flavour rules at (i), including the one-half letter-height and placement requirements. eCFR

[2] US FDA. 21 CFR 70.3 — Color additive definitions, including food ingredients that contribute their own natural colour versus food substances deliberately used as a colour. eCFR

[3] Practitioner summary of 21 CFR 101.22 for flavourists, noting the absence of a de minimis threshold for artificial flavour. Secondary source. View source

[4] Practitioner summary of natural versus artificial flavour under 21 CFR 101.22, including molecules identical to natural ones. Secondary source. View source

[5] Compliance summary of FDA food colour labelling requirements, including treatment of butter, cheese and ice cream and the "Natural Color" declaration. Secondary source. View source

[6] US FDA. Color Additives: Questions and Answers for Consumers — declaration of certified colours by name. FDA

Regulation, EU and UK

[7] Regulation (EU) No 1169/2011 on the provision of food information to consumers. Article 22 and Annex VIII, quantitative ingredients declaration. EUR-Lex

[8] European Commission Notice on the application of the principle of quantitative ingredients declaration (QUID), 2017. EUR-Lex

[9] Food Safety Authority of Ireland. QUID guidance, including the exemption for ingredients used in small quantities for flavouring and the treatment of serving-suggestion images. FSAI

[10] UK guidance on QUID under assimilated Regulation (EU) No 1169/2011. Business Companion

[11] Regulation (EC) No 1334/2008 on flavourings, Article 16 — specific requirements for use of the term "natural", including the 95 percent source rule at 16(4). legislation.gov.uk

[12] Practitioner briefing on Regulation (EC) No 1334/2008 and the use of "natural", including "with other natural flavourings". Secondary source. View source

[13] Food Safety Authority of Ireland. Labelling requirements for food additives, including the Article 24 and Annex V warning under Regulation (EC) No 1333/2008. FSAI

[14] UK guidance on colours and other additives in food, including the restriction of erythrosine (E127) to cocktail cherries. Business Companion

[15] Allura Red AC (E129) regulatory status, including the absence of an ADI revision after EFSA re-evaluation. Secondary source. View source

US colour policy

[16] US Department of Health and Human Services and FDA. Press announcement, 22 April 2025 — measures to phase out petroleum-based synthetic dyes. HHS

[17] National Agricultural Law Center. FDA announces plan to phase out synthetic dyes — including the Red No. 3 revocation and its 2027 food compliance date. View source

[18] Center for Science in the Public Interest. Commentary characterising the six-dye phase-out as a voluntary understanding. View source

[19] Red 40 regulatory status tracker — 21 CFR 74.340 listing in effect, no published revocation, state school-meal bans. Secondary source; verify before relying on it. View source

[20] Food dye phase-out tracker — compliance timeline, including the Red No. 3 food deadline and state legislation. Secondary source. View source

[21] Legal commentary on the FDA's February 2026 "no artificial colors" enforcement approach. Lexology

[22] Legal alert on FDA steps to ease the path for non-petroleum food colours, February 2026. Haynes Boone

Label survey sources, accessed September 2026

[23] Product A ingredient statement, product database entry. View listing

[24] Product B ingredient statement, product database entry. View listing

[25] Clear natural ube flavouring, manufacturer product page. View listing

[26] Clear natural ube flavour extract, manufacturer product page. View listing

[27] Retail category listing showing natural, dye-free and real-ube products, including a product titled "No Red 3, No Red 40". View listing

[28] Practitioner guide to ube products, including observations on mainstream flavourings and the muted colour of real ube. Blog source, cited as a market observation. View source

Science

[29] Srivichai, S., Hongsprabhas, P. (2020). Profiling anthocyanins in Thai purple yams (Dioscorea alata L.). International Journal of Food Science, 2020, 1594291. DOI: 10.1155/2020/1594291

[30] Exploring novel frontiers of advancements in purple yam (Dioscorea alata L.) starch extraction, modification, characterization and applications (2024). ScienceDirect

[31] Functional properties of purple yam (Dioscorea alata) flour (2018). View source

[32] Physicochemical properties of flour and starch of purple water yam (Dioscorea alata) tuber. Agrointek (2021). View source

[33] Nutritional profile and chemical properties of four accessions of hingurala (Dioscorea alata) (2025). ScienceDirect

[34] Antioxidative characteristics and sensory acceptability of bread substituted with purple yam (Dioscorea alata L.), including fresh tuber moisture ranges. PMC

[35] Ube halaya — composition and use as a base for ube pastries and ice cream. View source

Reviewed by

Prof. Bingji Ma

Scientific Advisor at PhytoVale. Professor and medicinal plant science expert. Research focus covers Chinese medicinal materials, phytochemistry, natural products and medicinal plant quality.

Written by

Flora

Content Editor at PhytoVale. Product content and editorial specialist, focused on botanical ingredient specifications, sourcing information and B2B technical content.

This article is written for food and beverage product development and sourcing professionals. It summarises labelling, flavouring and additive regulations in the United States, the European Union and the United Kingdom as we understand them at the date shown, and it is not legal or regulatory advice. The label survey in section 01 reflects published ingredient statements as at September 2026; we have not tested the products, and formulations change. The US colour positions in section 04 include policy that is still moving; verify the current status before acting. Determinations about characterizing flavour, colour additive status, QUID exemptions and label copy are the responsibility of the finished product manufacturer and its regulatory counsel. No health claims are made for any ingredient discussed here.

B2B UBE INGREDIENT SUPPORT

Not Sure Which Ube Ingredient Fits Your Product?

Tell us your application. We’ll help you compare ube powder, extract and flavoring, and provide sample availability, COA and pricing.

Sample Available COA Available Application Support
Request Sample & COA
Ube powder, extract and flavoring options for product development.
Email Us WhatsApp